Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown – “I Hate These Doggone Blues”

Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown performing “I Hate These Doggone Blues.” Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, who passed away in 2005, was born in Louisiana and raised in Texas. He was an acclaimed multi-instrumentalist playing  guitar, fiddle, mandolin, viola, harmonica and drums. I got to meet “Gatemouth” and got his autograph on my birthday one year when he played a show along with The Fabulous Thunderbirds at the old Madison Civic Center. My date that night, a beautiful blonde named Jayce, got us backstage. (Jayce got me in a lot of places!) Anyway, it was fun to meet “Gatemouth” and Kim Wilson from the “T-Birds.” Think I’ll feature them next.

Clarence Gatemouth Brown

Leave a Reply

